Board

If you are unable to access agendas, packets, meeting materials, minutes and recordings by using the button above, please copy and past this URL into your web browser: https://app2.boardontrack.com/public/XR54pr/home

Regular Board Meeting Dates

MWA Board Meetings:

  • September 9, 2021, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • October 14th, 2021, 4:00pm-7:30pm
  • December 9th, 2021, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • January 27th, 2022, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • March 10th, 2022, 10:30am-2:00pm 
  • May 5th, 2022, 4:00pm-7:30pm 
  • June 16th, 2022, 10:30am-2:00pm

Click here to access the agenda for the next board meeting (agendas are made public 72 hours in advance of the next meeting).

Making Waves Academy Board

A_Klein_0030

Alicia Malet Klein
Board President; GATE Instructor, Coleman School; President, HeadsUp Public Education Foundation; Board Member, Making Waves Foundation
aklein1@mwacademy.org 

M_Navarro_0054

Anabel Barron
School Case Manager, WCCUSD; MWA Parent 
 

Chavarria_Board Member

Carlos-Manuel Chavarria
Professor of Theatre and Drama Department Chair, Contra Costa College
cchavarria@mwacademy.org

Glover_Board Member

Janis Glover
Realtor; Retired Manager, Pittsburg Arts and Community Foundation; Former Chief of Staff, Contra Costa County District 5; Former Legislative Aide, California State Assembly
jglover@mwacademy.org

Burak_Gursel_1_USE

Burak Gursel
Acquisitions & Integration Manager, Simpson Strong-Tie
bgursel@mwacademy.org

Esther_Hugo

Dr. Esther Hugo
Adjunct Faculty, CSU College of Education and UCLA; Coordinator, UCLA College Counseling Certificate Program; Education Consultant
ehugo1@mwacademy.org

 
MWA board member Jessica Wind

Jessica (Wind) Laughlin
Senior Product Manager, Genentech
jlaughlin@mwacademy.org

MWA board member Layla Naranjo

Layla Naranjo
Senior Organizational Consultant, UC Berkeley 
lnaranjo@mwacademy.org

MWA board member Margaret Watson

Margaret Watson
Manager of Corporate Strategy, Adobe
mwatson@mwacademy.org