Board

Board Meeting Items

Please click here to access agendas, packets, meeting materials, minutes and recordings.

MWA Board Meetings:

  • September 10, 2020, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • October 15th, 2020, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • December 10th, 2020, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • January 28th, 2021, 10:30am-2:00pm
  • March 11th, 2021, 10:30am-2:00pm 
  • May 6th, 2021, 4:00pm-7:30pm 
  • June 17th, 2021, 10:30am-2:00pm

Click here to access the agenda for the next board meeting (agendas are made public 72 hours in advance of the next meeting).

Making Waves Academy Board

A_Klein_0030

Alicia Malet Klein
Board President; GATE Instructor, Coleman School; President, HeadsUp Public Education Foundation; Board Member, Making Waves Foundation
aklein1@mwacademy.org 

M_Navarro_0054

Maricela Navarro
Board Secretary, MWA Parent 
nmaricela@mwacademy.org

Chavarria_Board Member

Carlos-Manuel Chavarria
Professor of Theatre and Drama Department Chair, Contra Costa College
cchavarria@mwacademy.org

Glover_Board Member

Janis Glover
Realtor; Retired Manager, Pittsburg Arts and Community Foundation; Former Chief of Staff, Contra Costa County District 5; Former Legislative Aide, California State Assembly
jglover@mwacademy.org

Burak_Gursel_1_USE

Burak Gursel
Acquisitions & Integration Manager, Simpson Strong-Tie
bgursel@mwacademy.org

Esther_Hugo

Dr. Esther Hugo
Adjunct Faculty, CSU College of Education and UCLA; Coordinator, UCLA College Counseling Certificate Program; Education Consultant
ehugo1@mwacademy.org

 
MWA board member Jessica Wind

Jessica (Wind) Laughlin
Senior Product Manager, Genentech
jlaughlin@mwacademy.org

MWA board member Layla Naranjo

Layla Naranjo
Senior Organizational Consultant, UC Berkeley 
lnaranjo@mwacademy.org

MWA board member Margaret Watson

Margaret Watson
Manager of Corporate Strategy, Adobe
mwatson@mwacademy.org